DAY 23

Standard

“Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not men.” – Ephesians 6:7 (NIV)

A customer service consultant once told a large group of front-line service people who worked for a grocery chain: “Each of you should put your own signature on your job.  What could you do that is uniquely you, that tells your customers they are important?”  Three weeks later she heard from a bagger named Johnny, a young man with Down’s syndrome.

He said, “The night after I heard you speak to us, my parents and I talked about what I could do special for my customers.  I’ve collected good quotations over the years, and we decided I would give them to the people I serve at the store.”

Johnny went on to tell how he had typed his list of quotes on the family computer, made 150 copies of each, and then cut them out individually and folded them.  Each day, he chose one of the quotes and, as he finished bagging each customer’s groceries, he said, “I’m putting my quote for the day in your bag.  I hope it makes your day brighter.”  The store manager noted that every time he looked, all the customers were in Johnny’s aisle!

REFLECTION:

Regardless of the position you hold today, ask God to help you be the best you can be and to reflect His character in what you do or say. God put you on this earth because no one else can do what you do the way you do it.  Be the unique blessing He intended you to be!

Leave a Reply

